Medical cannabis in New Hampshire
New Hampshire’s medical cannabis structure was billed as one of the country’s most restrictive programs when it was approved in 2013. But then-Gov. Maggie Hassan (D) — who would later ascend to represent New Hampshire in the U.S. Senate — first stripped from the bill an allowance for cannabis patients to home-grow their own medicine.
In order to qualify for New Hampshire’s medical cannabis program, patients must be diagnosed with one of the qualifying medical conditions outlined by the program, including moderate to severe chronic pain, PTSD, autism spectrum disorder, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, or positive status for HIV, among many others.
New Hampshire decriminalization
New Hampshire’s decriminalization bill was approved in 2017. The measure reduced the penalty for possession of up to three-quarters of an ounce of cannabis from misdemeanor charges to a $100 fine for a first or second offense and $300 for a third offense. Four or more cannabis possession offenses during a three-year period still results in misdemeanor charges.
Where am I, what is this place?
Welcome to Ganjapreneur, where our writers and staff work to keep our audience informed about and well-connected with the legal cannabis industry. If you’re new around here, please subscribe to our newsletter for daily industry updates and interviews with the industry’s leading entrepreneurs and advocates — if you’re in an ancillary industry and looking to connect with cannabis companies, check out our cannabis business index!