A new Oregon program will require all workers in the recreational cannabis industry — including seasonal and part-time employees — to have a cannabis worker permit in order to maintain their spot in the industry. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) launched its online permit application system for the permits last week, according to The Bulletin.
Applicants must be at least 21 years old and will be tested on their knowledge of Oregon cannabis law, the safe handling of marijuana products, proper ID checks, and on recognizing the visible signs of cannabis intoxication.
Cannabis worker applicants will also be required to pass criminal background checks. Any sort of felony conviction from the last three years regarding controlled substances, violent crime, or a crime of dishonesty or deception (such as fraud, theft, or forgery) will automatically disqualify an individual’s application.
Applicants will be charged $100 for their permit, which will remain valid for five years. The OLCC plans to begin issuing permits starting September 1.
The permit is required for all employees working under Oregon’s licensed cannabis producers, processors, wholesalers, and retailers. Cannabis lab employees and researchers may not need the permit.
Get daily news insights in your inbox. Subscribe