Andrew Cuomo

Diana Robinson

New York Gov. Announces Cannabis Legalization Listening Sessions

On Thursday, the office of New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) announced a series of 15 listening sessions on regulated cannabis to be held across the state.

The meetings’ purpose: to hear input from community members and stakeholders on the details of cannabis legalization in New York state. Input received will be used by the state-commissioned Regulated Marijuana Workgroup as it drafts legislation for adult-use cannabis legalization to be considered by the state legislature.

“Community input is critical as we work to draft balanced and comprehensive legislation on a regulated marijuana program in New York. The multi-agency report identified the benefits of a regulated marijuana market, and with these listening sessions we are taking another important step to develop a model program for New York. We look forward to hearing what New Yorkers in every corner of the state have to say.” – Gov. Andrew Cuomo, in a press release

The public listening sessions, to be held in the evenings, will begin in early September and carry through mid-October. Pre-registration is encouraged. Dates and locations as published on the website of the governor’s office are:

  • Wednesday, September 5 – Albany
  • Thursday, September 6 – Glens Falls
  • Monday, September 17 – Bronx
  • Thursday, September 20 – Manhattan
  • Monday, September 24 – Queens
  • Tuesday, September 25 – Brooklyn
  • Wednesday, September 26 – Staten Island
  • Thursday, September 27 – Long Island
  • Monday, October 1 – Newburgh
  • Tuesday, October 2 – Binghamton
  • Wednesday, October 3 – Buffalo
  • Thursday, October 4 – Rochester
  • Tuesday, October 9 – Syracuse
  • Wednesday, October 10 – Utica
  • Thursday, October 11 – Watertown

Gov. Cuomo commissioned a study from the state Department of Health in January. In July, the Department of Health delivered the finalized study to the office of the Governor, concluding that a regulated adult-use market would be beneficial for New York.

Gov. Cuomo then created the Regulated Marijuana Workgroup to assist New York lawmakers in developing a bill with well-organized and effective terms for legalization.

Exclusive offer from our sponsor:

Get daily news insights in your inbox. Subscribe

End


Latest Cannabis News

View all news

From Our Partners

New to Cannabis? Start Here.

The Ganjapreneur beginner's guide to all things cannabis.


Ganjapreneur
Business Index

Find and connect with cannabis-friendly service providers:

Website & branding by the Ganjapreneur in-house agency:

Blue Dream - Uplifted cannabis industry branding & marketing.

Uplifted cannabis industry branding & marketing.