Iowa Public Radio Images

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds has appointed eight members to the board that will oversee the state’s expanded medical cannabis program, known as the Medical Cannabidiol Act, which now permits cannabis to be grown and cannabis products produced in the state.

According to the Quad-City Times report, Reynolds tabbed Dr. Ken Cheyne, a pediatrician; Dr. Lonny Miller, a family medicine specialist; Dr. Jill Liesveld, a psychiatrist; Dr. Robert Shreck, an oncologist; Dr. Stephen Richards, a pharmacist; Dr. Wendy Zadeh, a neurologist; Dr. Jaqueline Stoken, a pain management specialist; and Mike McKelvey, a law enforcement representative. The unpaid positions do not require state Senate confirmation.

The expanded law requires eight medical practitioners representing specific fields and one law enforcement representative to sit on the board and officials are still seeking one gastroenterology representative for the board.

Under the previous law, Iowans with epilepsy could obtain CBD treatments, but it did not permit the products to be produced or sold in the state. The new rules allow for two licensed producers, who must pay a $7,500 application fee, and five licensed dispensaries, which will pay a $5,000 application fee. The businesses must be operational by Dec. 1, 2018.

According to the report, officials plan on licensing the businesses by April.

Get daily news insights in your inbox. Subscribe


From Our Partners