Kentucky Governor Names Members of Medical Cannabis Advisory Committee

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear (D) has appointed 15 members to the Team Kentucky Medical Cannabis Advisory Committee; the appointees include physicians, attorneys, medical cannabis advocates, and public health workers.

Full story after the jump.

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear (D) has announced the members of the Team Kentucky Medical Cannabis Advisory Committee that will help advise him on providing access to medical cannabis. The 15-member panel includes physicians, medical cannabis advocates, public health workers, and attorneys. 

Beshear convened the committee after lawmakers failed to pass medical cannabis reforms during the most recent session.  

“Polling suggests 90% of Kentucky adults support legalizing medical cannabis, while at the same time, far too many in our state who could benefit from it are suffering. It is simply time that something more is done. I want to make sure every voice is heard as I am weighing executive action that could provide access to medical cannabis in the commonwealth.” — Beshear in a press release 

The panel includes: 

  • Dr. Amber Cann of La Grange, pharmacy coach and adjunct professor at Spalding University; 
  • Julie Cantwell of Rineyville, advocate with Kentuckians for Medical Marijuana; 
  • Jennifer Cave of Louisville, member, Stites and Harbison; 
  • Eric Crawford of Maysville, advocate; 
  • Cookie Crews of Frankfort, commissioner of the Department of Corrections; 
  • Dr. John Farmer of Louisville, OB/GYN, medical director of Solid Ground Counseling and Recovery, addiction treatment provider in Louisville, Morehead and Hazard; 
  • Dr. Jonathan Hatton of Whitesburg, family medicine, Mountain Comprehensive Health; 
  • Brian Jointer of Jeffersonville, Indiana, certified public health worker in Louisville; 
  • Dr. Nick Kouns of Lexington, internal medicine, Clark Regional Medical Center; 
  • Alex Kreit of Cincinnati, Ohio, director of the Chase Center on Addiction Law and Policy at Northern Kentucky University; 
  • Dr. Linda McClain of Louisville, OB/GYN, Commonwealth Counseling Center; 
  • Andrew Sparks of Lexington, former assistant U.S. Attorney; 
  • Dee Dee Taylor of Louisville, chief executive officer, 502 Hemp Wellness Center; 
  • Julie Wallace of Morganfield, Union County Attorney; and 
  • Kristin Wilcox of Beaver Dam, co-founder of Kentucky Moms for Medical Cannabis. 

Beshear also announced the launch of a new website where citizens can learn more about the commission and submit their own feedback. The governor did not indicate when the committee would hold its first meeting but said the panel would also hold townhall meetings throughout the commonwealth.   

Get daily cannabis business news updates. Subscribe

Have an additional perspective to share? Send us a message to let us know, and if your comment is chosen by our editors it could be featured here.


Ganjapreneur is made possible by our partners:

Latest Cannabis News

View all news Get email updates

Featured Business Profiles

Create a profile View all categories

From Our Partners