47 Ohio Municipalities So Far Have Banned Adult-Use Cannabis Businesses

Several dozen municipalities in Ohio have opted for at least temporary bans on adult-use cannabis companies as the state’s upcoming cannabis program prepares for a potential launch in June.

Full story after the jump.

At least 47 Ohio municipalities had opted as of March 31 to ban adult-use cannabis operations enabled by the state legalization law passed by voters last year, according to Ohio State University research summarized by Cleveland.com.

Ohio’s adult-use cannabis program is on track for sales to launch in June — ahead of schedule — after a key legislative committee this week passed a dual-licensing proposal that would let medical cannabis dispensaries start serving adult-use customers.

The moratoriums have so far been mostly temporary with durations set between three months and one year, although local officials in many of the locations can choose to either extend or end the restrictions. Some of the jurisdictions with moratoriums already have operational medical cannabis companies, the report said.

The report also noted that the 47 communities with cannabis business moratoriums represent just 2% of the state’s total incorporated cities and townships.

According to the researchers, the most common reason provided for the moratoriums was to “preserve public health,” followed by those municipalities that are waiting for the full program’s rules to be finalized.

Under the cannabis legalization policy passed last year by Ohio voters, adults aged 21+ are allowed to possess and cultivate cannabis at home but there are not currently any legal avenues for adult-use consumers to purchase cannabis products.

Currently, the following cities and towns have passed full moratoriums on adult-use cannabis companies:

  • Ashland
  • Avon Lake
  • Beachwood
  • Beavercreek
  • Bellefontaine
  • Bellville
  • Brunswick
  • Carlisle
  • Centerville
  • Clayton
  • Eaton
  • Fairfield
  • Forest Park
  • Franklin
  • Green
  • Hamilton
  • Hudson
  • Kettering
  • Kirtland
  • Lakewood
  • Lexington
  • Lisbon
  • Madison Township
  • Marysville
  • Medina Township
  • Miamisburg
  • Monroe
  • New Franklin
  • North Olmsted
  • North Royalton
  • Northfield
  • Norton
  • Ontario
  • Salem
  • Shelby
  • Springboro
  • Sycamore Township
  • Trotwood
  • Troy
  • Vandalia
  • Washington Township
  • Waynesville
  • West Carrollton
  • West Chester Township
  • Westlake
  • Xenia

Get daily cannabis business news updates. Subscribe

Have an additional perspective to share? Send us a message to let us know, and if your comment is chosen by our editors it could be featured here.


Ganjapreneur is made possible by our partners:

Latest Cannabis News

View all news Get email updates

Featured Business Profiles

Create a profile View all categories

From Our Partners