Pennsylvania’s Department of Health is now accepting applications for medical cannabis dispensaries, cultivators, and processors, Fox43 reports. Under the state’s medical cannabis laws, the Department of Health is allowed to issue up to 25 grower/processor licenses and up to 50 dispensary permits.
Grower and processor applicants are required to pay a $10,000 non-refundable permit fee plus another refundable permit fee of $200,000. Grower/processor applicants must also be able to prove they have $2 million in capital, $500,000 of which must me on deposit with a financial institution. Dispensary applicants must pay a $5,000 non-refundable fee plus another $30,000 refundable permit fee and must be able to prove $150,000 in capital.
Pennsylvania’s medical cannabis rules do not allow for full-plant use, instead patients will have access to pills, oils, topicals, tinctures, liquids, and “a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization,” the draft rules for the program state.
According to the 33-page grower/processor application, applicants must include a diversity plan “that promotes and ensures the involvement of diverse participants and diverse groups in ownership, management, employment, and contracting opportunities.” The diversity plans will be scored by the department on a 100-point system.
Applications are open until March 20.
Get daily news insights in your inbox. Subscribe