The Missouri Department of Health on Saturday released the sample application for personal cultivation of cannabis plants, the first step in allowing individuals to grow their own cannabis under the state’s voter-approved legalization law, 5 On Your Side reports. The agency has not yet started accepting the applications, however, but John Payne, campaign manager of Legal MO 2022, the campaign behind the successful initiative, suggested the state could begin accepting the applications next month.
Under the law, Missourians aged 21 or older can grow up to 18 plants, including six mature, six immature up to 14 inches, and six seedlings or clones shorter than 14 inches. Home-grow license fees are set at $100 for adult-use growers and $50 for medical cannabis home cultivators. Missouri NORML Attorney Dan Viets told 5 On Your Side that there are already about 20,000 Missourians growing for medical use.
Star Buds Dispensary Owner Chris Chesley noted that the campaign organizers weighed the pros and cons of a registration process for home grows and decided registration would provide legal cover for growers.
“We wanted to make sure that before police could get a warrant just for somebody growing cannabis, that they had to check that list. And if somebody is on that list, then the department is going to go knock on the door and say, ‘hey, can we see your grow operation and make sure that you’re doing this within regulation’ instead of potentially having a SWAT team come to your door.” — Chesley to 5 On Your Side
Home-cultivated cannabis cannot be sold but growers can share up to three ounces with other adults.
Adult-use sales are expected to commence in Missouri on February 6. Additional licensing, including microbusiness licenses, is expected to open in June and be awarded in 2024 and 2025.
Get daily cannabis business news updates. Subscribe